Skip to content

Full of Thanks

November 22, 2012
tags:

I’m not doing one of those “This is My Life,” posts. I’m not. I’m not going to post about food or family because that is trite and you don’t care. But there are things I’m thankful for.

I’m thankful for the Queen performance at Live-Aid. I’m thankful I was old enough to be alive to see it and young enough that it was formative in my understanding of music and performance. To me, that moment was like church and Freddie Mercury was our priest.

I’m thankful sanity and strength and being smarter than the average bear.

I am thankful for language and the ability to put words together in a way that people seem to appreciate

I’m thankful for election and an informed electorate and WINNING! That’s always nice.

I am thankful for Rachel Maddow and her tireless work to keep said electorate informed.

I am thankful for little sisters and smart hoars (you hoars know who you are.)

I am thankful for no longer being in a relationship with a clinical narcissist.

I am thankful for blogging as it allows me to speak the truth as I see it in my own little corner of the ‘verse.

I am thankful for cute shoes and fat girl clothes.

I am thankful for Facebook, Twitter, and cell phones so that I can wish a bunch of people Happy Gluttony Day without having to talk to them. Because I know a lot of people and even a five minute conversation is going to eat into my life.

I’m thankful for whatever clever little proto-human picked up a feather or a flower or whatever and decided that it needed to go in the hair somehow and thus invented accessorizing.

LOOK AT THIS HAT

I want it!

I’m thankful for two sticks and some string which has kept me sane and allowed me to make pretty things.

I am totally making this.

Shut up. I do too need more hats in Florida.

I am thankful for friends who invite me to their houses and don’t make me clean afterward.

I am thankful for pets. ‘Cause even though I don’t have one right now I remember what it was like to be the bipedal food delivery system. They seem to like that.

I am thankful for Dr. Who.

I am thankful for Netflix, which I will watch once I get home until I fall into a food coma.

Happy Gluttony Day youse guys.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 22, 2012 1:12 AM

    The world is a better place for having known Freddie Mercury and Queen.

  2. November 22, 2012 9:47 AM

    Preach!

  3. November 22, 2012 10:16 AM

    Happy Thanksgiving! That was Awesome Thank you!

  4. November 22, 2012 12:07 PM

    That performance at Live Aid was a beautiful thing to behold then, and it’s just as beautiful now, rewatching it.

    Also, you aren’t the only one who is thankful for Doctor Who. That and Torchwood were, along with a few close friends, about all that saved my sanity during my mother’s final illness.

  5. November 22, 2012 1:56 PM

    This bipedal food delivery system appreciates you! :-)
    I love this blog post. Oh, and I am grateful for Dr. Who over in my corner of the ‘verse (love Firefly) too!
    I found you on NaBloPoMo.
    Happy Thanksgiving!

  6. November 22, 2012 8:04 PM

    So … who’s your favorite Doctor? :D

    I’m partial to Eccleston.

  7. November 22, 2012 8:34 PM

    Baker. I’m old school and he was my first Doctor. He’ll always be THE Doctor to me. But of the new era I like Tennant largely because I don’t like Rose as a companion.

Leave a Reply

Tall N Curly™

Comics, music & stuff

serenitynow3

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Grown and Curvy Woman

Where style has no age or size

work / play / polish

life through manicures

Hollis Plample

draws comics

Short & Sweet In Texas

a blog about nail polish

Window On Religion

Podcast and Written Reflections by Crystal St. Marie Lewis

Politics - The Huffington Post

I am not nice, but I am honest and that is more important.

The Great American Memoir!

Like, share, comment, follow, tweet, etc.

Council House Scum

Welfare leeching wage slave writing all sorts of crap...

Radically Queer

Learn, Question, Make Change.

I am not nice, but I am honest and that is more important.

ghostnapped

Ashley Howland Author WordPress.com site

Working my way from fundamentalism to freedom (without losing my mind)

White Rabbit's Gallery

Wonderings and Ponderings: Past, Present & Future

Feministing

I am not nice, but I am honest and that is more important.

Are Women Human?

Debunking gender myths

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,631 other followers

