Skip to content

What Progress Looks Like

January 16, 2013

Jodie Foster sort of came out last night at the Golden Globes.

Jodie Foster

And despite the panting desire of the media to make a story of it, nobody much cares.

That right there? It’s kind of a big deal.

I know, I know, that doesn’t make a lot of sex but follow me here. The fact that Jodie Foster came out is not a big deal. The meh response of the world? That is.

Because coming out should be no big deal.  It shouldn’t matter. When a young heterosexual tells someone about their first crush, it’s cute at most, but nobody much gives a shit.

“Yay. Good for you. Hope that works out. Moving along.” And then everyone goes back to their lives.

Not long ago, a start coming out, even one whose sexuality has been an open secret for years, was a big deal. There were days of news cycles about it as well as speculation about the effect it would have on their career. And often their would be an effect on their career. They spent the rest of their lives in “gay roles” or none at all.

I don’t know how much that has changed. Jodie Foster is Jodie Foster. She’s not some 25-year-old trying to make a name for themselves. The reaction may have been very different if she had been, but you know what? This is what equality looks like. When talking about our families is just as not particularly special as every straight person doing the same we can look at that and see real progress. I’ll take the win.

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 16, 2013 9:50 AM

    You have a great typo:
    “that doesn’t make a lot of sex”

    Loving your blog, btw.

  2. January 16, 2013 12:44 PM

    Interesting, how different people focused on different parts of her speech. What stood out for me was when she was talking about her mother. It was immediately clear to me that her mother has dementia, just from how she talked about and to her mother. I heard other comments that what she said about her mother just made no sense at all. To someone (me) who also watched her mother fade away as dementia took her memory, it was perfectly clear what she was saying and why.

Leave a Reply

Tall N Curly

I'm tall. I'm curly. Some days I wish I was invisible. On other days ? Just watch me ! ;)

serenitynow3

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Grown and Curvy Woman

Where style has no age or size

work / play / polish

life through manicures

Hollis Plample

draws comics

Short & Sweet In Texas

a blog about nail polish

Crystal St. Marie Lewis

Words About Religion & The World Around Us

I am not nice, but I am honest and that is more important.

The Great American Memoir!

Like, share, comment, follow, tweet, etc.

Council House Scum

Welfare leeching wage slave writing all sorts of crap...

Radically Queer

Learn, Question, Make Change.

I am not nice, but I am honest and that is more important.

ghostnapped

Ashley Howland Author WordPress.com site

Working my way from fundamentalism to freedom (without losing my mind)

White Rabbit's Gallery

Memories and Musings of Things Past & Present

Feministing

I am not nice, but I am honest and that is more important.

Are Women Human?

Debunking gender myths

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,451 other followers

