Skip to content

Dear Christian Friends, Or Things That Are Not Oppression: A Rant

October 19, 2012

Please click this link and watch it all the way to the end.

CLICK

Please allow me to add some context.

On August 14th Springfield, MO City Council held a public hearing on a proposal to add protections based on sexual orientation and gender identity to the city’s nondiscrimination ordinance. Because,there is somehow a question of whether it should be OK to discriminate fucking ever? Why yes, in fact, these still is. Welcome to the front lines of life as a member of the LGBTQ community. According to many “Christian, freedom-loving, Constitution respecting” fellow citizens, equal rights is still something that needs to be debated. But I digress.

As I said, I am speaking to my Christian friends.

I am not one of you and I never have been but I’m not going to debate you on the validity or lack thereof of your religion. I’m not going to list for you the ways in which the definition of marriage changes within the context of your holy book. Because I don’t care. I very much hope your religion makes you happy and fulfilled

That guy? He is one of you, at least in the sense that he is a minister of the sort that seems believe that there is one deity he had a son named Jesus. That guy nailed the problem with the anti-gay objection to equality and he did so with style. He gives his religious bona fides and launches right into his anti-gay appearing argument. And then he tells us where he got that argument from. And you know what? He’s right.

I mean, of course, I agree with him because I’m a member of the LBGTQ community and I have actually read the US Constitution and respect it, so yeah, equality. I’m for that.

Discrimination is discrimination and it’s always wrong, even if you don’t like the group being discriminated against.

Rights are rights. If you feel that it is acceptable to vote to determine whether or not other people obtain or retain rights then you clearly do not understand what the word means.

But that’s not the point of this post. What is?

Frankly, those of you who are opposing equality for the LGBTQ community on any front should be ashamed of yourselves. This is what you are becoming, the mirror image of the ignorant, racists of the 1960’s who fought against the rights of interracial couples to marry.

 

And let me make things simple and clear if you do not like this characterization, then change your behavior. Until then, take a look in the mirror, you’ll see 1962 looking back at you. Look a little closer and you’ll see 2062 turning its face away in shame.

You need to take responsibility for your behavior and stop complaining about its results.

And please, please stop pretending that your fellow citizens gaining equality somehow equates to you being oppressed. That’s just fucking offensive.

When you publicly refuse to bake a wedding cake for a lesbian couple and other people in your community refuse to patronize your establishment as a result, you are not being oppressed. You are reaping the consequences of your actions. Those two things aren’t the same.

When two people who are not you want to share the same legal protections as everyone else and want to have the ability to use the same word to describe their union, you are not being oppressed. You are leaping into a situation that does not concern you and then getting huffy about it. Those two things are not the saime.

If that married couple wants to adopt a child who is in no way connected to you, who needs a loving family and who you, yourself are not trying to adopt, you are not being oppressed.

The fact that religions other than yours exist and are spoken about and even gasp practiced publicly does not oppress you.

Oh and you lefterly leaning people; you who are feeling smug and superior reading this? You’re not innocent.

If someone wears fur they are not oppressing you.

If someone eats meat they are not oppressing you.

If someone is religious that fact alone does not oppress you.

I’m tired of this shit. I’m tired of the sudden and inexplicable acceptance of the assertion that disagreeing with someone equates to oppressing them.

It’s ridiculous and it insults my intelligence.

You have the freedom to express your opinion within reason. You do not have the freedom to express your opinion free from criticism.

Grow the fuck up.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 20, 2012 8:00 AM

    Amen! (Yes, I am Christian,but I do not believe in people not supporting equality for ALL.). I believe in religious freedom (practice what you believe) but not in inflicting your beliefs on others or trying to hurt others in the name of God. I see a minister protesting funerals and torturing a grieving family, or people denying happiness to a couple, and a million other ways. Just practice your beliefs and understand what makes our nation great is the difference and the way we should all be respectful of those differences. My late hubby’s brother used to have his “religious friends” write to use when hubby was dying tell us we would never see each other again if we didn’t become born again… It was insane that I had strangers writing from all over the country to us with lots of hate filled letters. I was stressed beyond words and worried, and these people did nothing to help, just inflict more pain. In sympathy cards “you will never see your beloved again”, REALLY?
    Love your blog and that you speak with such passion.

    • October 20, 2012 9:12 AM

      “I was stressed beyond words and worried, and these people did nothing to help, just inflict more pain.”

      I don’t get how that matches with the whole “Love ye one another,” message. That’s not loving. Even if you think someone’s soul is in danger. That approach is NOT LOVING, it’s cruel and hurtful.

      I’ve had a lot of people tell me that God will punish me because of my political or religious beliefs To that I say “OK.” Assuming, for the sake of that conversation, that Judeo-Christian religious theory is 100% accurate on the whole one deity and sin and stuff, OK. I’ll take that judgement. I’m comfortable with that. God can judge me and, if necessary, punish me.Humans can fuck right off.

Trackbacks

  1. Dear Republican Friends, « What a Witch

Leave a Reply

Social Justice Xenomorph

White Lady Done Being Nice

hoodfeminism

Life at the Intersection.

the inadvertent feminist

Kinky girl and accidental activist

Tall N Curly™

Comics, music & stuff by Chey (Cheyan Lefebvre)

serenitynow3

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Grown and Curvy Woman

Where Style Has No Age Or Size

work / play / polish

life through manicures

Hollis Plample

draws comics

Crystal St. Marie Lewis

Notes on Faith, Reason & Liberation

Politics - The Huffington Post

I am not nice, but I am honest and that is more important.

The Great American Memoir!

Like, share, comment, follow, tweet, etc.

Council House Scum

Welfare leeching wage slave writing all sorts of crap...

Radically Queer

Learn, Question, Make Change.

I am not nice, but I am honest and that is more important.

ghostnapped

Ashley Howland Author WordPress.com site

Sarah Over the Moon

I am not nice, but I am honest and that is more important.

White Rabbit's Lair

A place of any thing...

