Skip to content

Because One Of Us Could Die

October 22, 2012

Mitt Romney says that hospital visitation is a benefit, not a right.

He said this with a straight face. (See what I did there?)

Many conservatives who believe that they are not prejudiced ask “Why do you have to call it marriage?” They apparently believe that the LGBTQ community should be happy with something that is similar or even identical to marriage, without the moniker.

Here’s the thing. No. Not only no but FUCK NO.

Why do I need to call it marriage? Because separate but equal is never equal. It’s only ever separate.

Why do I need to call it marriage? Because marriage is one of the “basic civil rights of man,” according to our Supreme Court and that is a question they answered fifty fucking years ago.

Why do I need to call it marriage? Because doing otherwise is a surrender to bigotry and ignorance. I’m better than that. This nation should be better than that and I’m going to make that happen or collapse heading in that direction.

Why do I need to call it marriage?

Because Mitt Romeny says that hospital visitation is a benefit, not a right.

Because Lisa Marie Pond died all alone.

She was 39

Because her family was denied access to her bedside as she lay dying and Mitt Romney has stated that he will do everything in his power to repeal the law that ensures LGBTQ families access to each other on his first day in office.

Because the word married has power and that power literally opens doors.

This is the woman with who I share my life.

She is my best friend.

We’ve been together for fifteen years.

We are veterans.

We pay our taxes.

We are a family..

This is the last face I want to see before I go.

When it is her time, she deserves to die hearing me tell her how much I love her.

And one of us could die.

Without the word marriage and the power that word offers, one of us could be locked away from each other.

One of us could die all alone.

You’re damned right we require the word marriage, because I don’t want to have to get in a fist fight in a hospital just to say goodbye to someone I love.

I deserve better and so does she.

Who thinks otherwise?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 22, 2012 11:20 PM

    When I hear “why does it have to be marriage?” I turn the question back on them.
    If the word should not matter to me, why does it matter to you? If I should be willing to accept something less than what you have, then what is it that you have that is so important to protect?

    The answer to the “why does it have to be marriage” is the same reason that “marriage” is being “protected”. Because it has power. Because it matters. Because it is a foundational part of our society.

    So if the word “Marriage” doesn’t matter, then let’s just do away with it all together. You get a civil union! YOU get a Civil Union! EVERY ONE gets a Civil Union!

Trackbacks

  1. Sunday Round Up + This Week In Crazy « What a Witch

Leave a Reply

Social Justice Xenomorph

White Lady Done Being Nice

hoodfeminism

Life at the Intersection.

the inadvertent feminist

Kinky girl and accidental activist

Tall N Curly™

Comics, music & stuff by Chey (Cheyan Lefebvre)

serenitynow3

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Grown and Curvy Woman

Where Style Has No Age Or Size

work / play / polish

life through manicures

Hollis Plample

draws comics

Crystal St. Marie Lewis

Notes on Faith, Reason & Liberation

Politics - The Huffington Post

I am not nice, but I am honest and that is more important.

The Great American Memoir!

Like, share, comment, follow, tweet, etc.

Council House Scum

Welfare leeching wage slave writing all sorts of crap...

Radically Queer

Learn, Question, Make Change.

I am not nice, but I am honest and that is more important.

ghostnapped

Ashley Howland Author WordPress.com site

Sarah Over the Moon

I am not nice, but I am honest and that is more important.

White Rabbit's Lair

A place of any thing...

