Skip to content

LSG Blog Prompt: Why Do You Blog?

December 1, 2012

If you know what LSG is, hi hoar!

If you don’t know and you knit and read this blog you may want to come visit us on Ravelry.

If you don’t know and you do not knit…just pretend I called the post something else.

I blog because I have all these words. They are in my brain and they want to get out. I see problems and more importantly I see patterns. The post I did previously outlining the Jim Crow decisions that the Florida legislature have been making? That pattern seemed obvious to me. It was only when I mentioned it to a couple of other people that I realized it may require an explanation.

I blog because this is my voice.

I blog because I feel and have always felt that it is my function to learn as much as I can in this life and then teach what I have learned to as many people as will stand still long enough to listen. But I don’t like kids so much and as such being an actual teacher was right out.

I blog because my pie in the sky dream is to be Rachel Maddow on a very small scale when I grow up. (For the record; I am 37. No word on when that growing up thing is actually going to happen.)

I blog because I am a fan of Angel the Series. I blog because of a few lines in the second season.

If there’s no great glorious end to all this, if … nothing we do matters … then all that matters is what we do. ‘Cause that’s all there is. What we do. Now. Today.

Today, I choose to try and make the world better, smarter, more informed.

I blog because I am a Dr. Who fan and the fundamental lesson of The Doctor is to reach out to other people. You don’t have to be a super hero or a genius. You just have to try. You have to try and keep trying and maybe, just maybe, this extraordinary madman with a box will come ask you to be his friend. If that were to ever happen don’t be between me and the police box. I will not hesitate.

I blog because sometimes it helps me work out a cogent position on an issue.

I blog because sometimes I want to talk about knitting.

Or maybe I’m self important and I want to convince myself that something I say matters to people who aren’t me.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 1, 2012 8:04 PM

    You gave one of the best reasons for blogging that I have ever seen, and then you gave another, and FYI, I have every plan to be in that box as well.
    I was curious so I popped over to Ravelry to find what LSG is. While it is not the group for me, I respect that it is the group for you, and I am really glad to have found your blog via the nablopomo challenge.

    • December 1, 2012 11:57 PM

      Yes, LSG is not for everyone. Ravelry, on the other hand, totally is. There is no group that is not represented on Rav. If you can’t find your area of interest it does not exist.

      Thank you for reading me! It’s very encouraging to know that I am not just blogging into the cosmos.

Leave a Reply

Social Justice Xenomorph

White Lady Done Being Nice

hoodfeminism

Life at the Intersection.

the inadvertent feminist

Kinky girl and accidental activist

Tall N Curly™

Comics, music & stuff by Chey (Cheyan Lefebvre)

serenitynow3

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Grown and Curvy Woman

Where Style Has No Age Or Size

work / play / polish

life through manicures

Hollis Plample

draws comics

Crystal St. Marie Lewis

Notes on Faith, Reason & Liberation

Politics - The Huffington Post

I am not nice, but I am honest and that is more important.

The Great American Memoir!

Like, share, comment, follow, tweet, etc.

Council House Scum

Welfare leeching wage slave writing all sorts of crap...

Radically Queer

Learn, Question, Make Change.

I am not nice, but I am honest and that is more important.

ghostnapped

Ashley Howland Author WordPress.com site

Sarah Over the Moon

I am not nice, but I am honest and that is more important.

White Rabbit's Lair

A place of any thing...

