Skip to content

A Question About Values

January 19, 2013

I was asked a really interesting question recently which I thought it would be fun to share with others.

Pick 5 of the most personally important values from this list:

  • a comfortable life
  • an exciting life
  • a sense of accomplishment
  • a world at peace
  • a world of beauty
  • equality
  • family unity and security
  • freedom
  • happiness
  • inner harmony
  • mature love
  • national security
  • pleasure
  • religious principles
  • self-respect
  • social recognition
  • true friendship
  • wisdom
  • moral life

and then define them in your words.

Wow, OK. Really? Well, it depends, I mean what are our definitions? The response I got was somewhat not helpful, in that it basically allowed me to define them as I wished.

That answer was obviously provided by someone who doesn’t know me very well. But I can do this…I can. Here we go.

My most important one isn’t on the list.

1. Honesty. I think we spend a lot of time in our lives lying to ourselves and lying to each other. In many cases there are noble reasons for that but lies are still lies and more often than not they hinder communication and growth.

2.Moral Life. Do right. Always. There are always excuses and easier ways to do things but if you don’t follow your morals all the time, not just when it’s easy then your morals aren’t morals, they’re hobbies.

3. Family unity and security. For me this is much more about making sure that the people I love, largely Abby, are safe and happy and can pursue their own needs and goals.

4.Equality. Duh. A level playing field allows everyone to achieve whatever their personal goals are much more often.

5. Wisdom. I’d add knowledge to that. Life is a classroom. The whole point of living is to learn more.

 

OK, so those are mine. What are yours?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Social Justice Xenomorph

White Lady Done Being Nice

hoodfeminism

Life at the Intersection.

the inadvertent feminist

Kinky girl and accidental activist

Tall N Curly™

Comics, music & stuff by Chey (Cheyan Lefebvre)

serenitynow3

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Grown and Curvy Woman

Where Style Has No Age Or Size

work / play / polish

life through manicures

Hollis Plample

draws comics

Crystal St. Marie Lewis

Notes on Faith, Reason & Liberation

Politics - The Huffington Post

I am not nice, but I am honest and that is more important.

The Great American Memoir!

Like, share, comment, follow, tweet, etc.

Council House Scum

Welfare leeching wage slave writing all sorts of crap...

Radically Queer

Learn, Question, Make Change.

I am not nice, but I am honest and that is more important.

ghostnapped

Ashley Howland Author WordPress.com site

Sarah Over the Moon

I am not nice, but I am honest and that is more important.

White Rabbit's Lair

A place of any thing...

