Skip to content

Lazy Monday Post

January 21, 2013

I’m having one of my periodic bouts of insomnia and I haven’t slept since Saturday night. Thus, I am unable to think clearly enough to formulate an interesting, or remotely rational, post.

Welcome to link spam.

Sadly, my stye is not quite healed so I can’t go out and volunteer for Dr. King Day. Instead I offer you some information many of you may not have has about the realities of Dr. King, as opposed to the Disney version of him so many of us learned about in school.

Martin Luther King Jr.org his writings, historical commentaries and much more.

The Real Dr. King: An Extremist for Justice which I think an apt description. Don’t ever let anyone convince you that just because he wasn’t throwing punches, he was anything other than an up-in-your-face radical.

And some Jay Smooth, because he’s brilliant.

 

In other news, What I’ve Been Reading:

Not fucking up on trans issues a process that I’m still owrking on. Hear that self? Choice is less a matter of reproductive freedom and more a matter of bodily autonomy.

I’m working on this, I promise. When I get it wrong, and I will at some point, please hold me accountable.

A great blog on Game of Thrones and othering.

It’s always nice when major new outlets get around to the point you made weeks ago.

Saturday was “Gun Appreciation Day,” and five “law abiding, responsible, well trained, gun owners,” were accidentally shot. So that argument kind of…(I can’t resist) shot itself in the foot.

Here are some pictures from the day full of people who think their signs are convincing us they can be trusted with guns. Personally, I’m unconvinced that they can be trusted with signs or basic cognitive function.

What I’m Watching:

Game Change. It was surprisingly good. Yes, it pissed me off in all the ways that the actual bullshit of the campaign pissed me off, but I was expecting that. What pissed me off the most was that the candidates and the staffers were totally oblivious to the racial othering inherent in connecting the future president to the word “terrorist.”

It actually made me sympathetic to both McCain and Palin. Not, you know, a lot but somewhat. McCain never had a chance to run the campaign he wanted to run because Obama was already doing it and Palin was woefully out of her depth the whole time.

Reliving the whole thing with Bristol Palin and her pregnancy was tough. As far as I’m concerned, choice means choice and it was hard to watch so many self-identified “pro-choice,” people on the left using a teenager’s choice as a weapon.

That said, he picked her in the first place with only five days of background checks and  they both lied, often. Finally, I blame the McCain campaign for accelerating the hateful invective that has been used against the president since the campaign. They started it and they let it build until it couldn’t be stopped.

That vitriol is still building on itself and poisoning every moment of of political discourse in the nation. That’s something that neither of them has ever taken responsibility for. Which proves, once again that e made the right choice in our president because people who can’t take responsibility for their fuck ups shouldn’t be trusted with the reins of government.

What I’m Knitting:

You know, while I’m doing all this other stuff and not sleeping. The Eiffel Tower shawl, which is my first full sized lace project.

IMG_1891-001

Good clicking everyone. I’m going to try and sleep.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Social Justice Xenomorph

White Lady Done Being Nice

hoodfeminism

Life at the Intersection.

the inadvertent feminist

Kinky girl and accidental activist

Tall N Curly™

Comics, music & stuff by Chey (Cheyan Lefebvre)

serenitynow3

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Grown and Curvy Woman

Where Style Has No Age Or Size

work / play / polish

life through manicures

Hollis Plample

draws comics

Crystal St. Marie Lewis

Notes on Faith, Reason & Liberation

Politics - The Huffington Post

I am not nice, but I am honest and that is more important.

The Great American Memoir!

Like, share, comment, follow, tweet, etc.

Council House Scum

Welfare leeching wage slave writing all sorts of crap...

Radically Queer

Learn, Question, Make Change.

I am not nice, but I am honest and that is more important.

ghostnapped

Ashley Howland Author WordPress.com site

Sarah Over the Moon

I am not nice, but I am honest and that is more important.

White Rabbit's Lair

A place of any thing...

