Skip to content

What Do You Love?

February 4, 2013

I mean really love?

I’m asking because apparently the Super Bowl happened this weekend and given the fact that neither of the teams was named The Philadelphia Eagles I could not care. But it did offer the opportunity to watch people enjoying something they love. Honestly, living in the South (yes, I know I technically live in Florida, which most people don’t think of as “the South” but they are wrong. I live in the Panhandle, otherwise known as Southern Most Alabama.) I get a lot of chances to watch people indulge their love of football. I mean, a lot.

Not being a college football fan, I can’t participate in that love but I understand enough about the sport to enjoy watching other people’s enjoyment. And yes, I know football. I grew up near Philly. It’s like a law. “Welcome to the world kid, here’s your cheese steak, your soft pretzel, your copy of the Rocky series, and a fandom of your choice which will disappoint you for the rest of your life.” I went with the Eagles. I’m a true fan, and by that I mean, I am a fan of the team and always have been even though they haven’t won a Super Bowl ever. My team sucks, consistently, and I am still a fan.

But my love for them does not compare to the love some people around here have for their teams. Not even close.

A- says, growing up super, extra, double, plus, plus Christian, that loving something that much, the obsessive, all encompassing kind of love that only nerds and sports fans can achieve, was considered a sin. She can’t really explain it. OK, honestly, she could probably explain it perfectly to someone else. I just don’t get it. I have that kind of love for things other than sports and I pretty much always have.

A- for  one. I love her. She’s the one. But that’s not exactly what I mean.

For me, the thing that I have hardcore nerd love for? It’s music. For me, music is religion and there are certain groups or pieces of music that are like church. Warren Zevon does that for me. He takes me to church with chord or a turn of phrase. Leonard Cohen does the same. The big three classical composers do the same.

Or maybe it’s like a drug. it lifts me up and makes me high. Luciano Pavarotti doing Nesun Dorma takes me to space as does the prelude to Bach´s Cello Suite No. 1 but only when it’s played by Yo-yo Ma. He phrases the shit out of that piece. He improves on Bach. it’s made of magic.

Rarely, extremely rarely, do I get the chance to hear the kinds of music I love live. Mostly that’s my fault as I’m clearly a music snob. But recently I got lucky.

Just randomly at the spoke word night I go to I got to hear what is probably one of the best bands of the 21st Century.

IMG_2268-001

Now scroll back up and read the list to which I am adding this group.

Be impressed. They’re really that good.

Specifically, I’ve been listening to this song on repeat for the past two hours because I can not stop. Truth, I really don’t want to.

I know them! I know them and when they are famous I may paste a picture of them to my forehead in order to be able to start every single conversation with the information that I know them.

I have the nerdy kind of love for them.

Oh and I got a t-shirt last night. Never say no to the swag.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 4, 2013 9:30 AM

    Thanks for sharing what you love. I had to pop over and give a listen. I am not familiar with her or her music. I am a country music fan and enjoy it a lot. For me, the love of creating something with my hands using my papers, and inks is what I truly love to do. If I could I would do more of it, but alas, life gets in the way more than I would like. I always happiest when my fingers are inky.

Leave a Reply

Social Justice Xenomorph

White Lady Done Being Nice

hoodfeminism

Life at the Intersection.

the inadvertent feminist

Kinky girl and accidental activist

Tall N Curly™

Comics, music & stuff by Chey (Cheyan Lefebvre)

serenitynow3

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Grown and Curvy Woman

Where Style Has No Age Or Size

work / play / polish

life through manicures

Hollis Plample

draws comics

Crystal St. Marie Lewis

Notes on Faith, Reason & Liberation

Politics - The Huffington Post

I am not nice, but I am honest and that is more important.

The Great American Memoir!

Like, share, comment, follow, tweet, etc.

Council House Scum

Welfare leeching wage slave writing all sorts of crap...

Radically Queer

Learn, Question, Make Change.

I am not nice, but I am honest and that is more important.

ghostnapped

Ashley Howland Author WordPress.com site

Sarah Over the Moon

I am not nice, but I am honest and that is more important.

White Rabbit's Lair

A place of any thing...

