Skip to content

@marcorubio Why Is My Senator Is Dodging My Calls?

February 5, 2013

stop-call-3

OK, it’s hypothetically possible that you aren’t. It is possible that that you coincidentally have no one answering the phone in either your D.C. or Florida offices all day when you, along with eight other Senators block the Violence against Women Act. Yeah, that happened and I’m not the only person who can’t get through. Every single Floridian I know, involved in state politics has been getting voice mail all day too.

Our Senator is dodging us. Not that I really blame you. You’ve got a hell of a lot of explaining to do.

I want my Senator to explain to me why you are willing to put the people of this state and this nation in danger.

Specifically I want you to tell what what exactly you object to about a federal rape shield law.

I want you to explain to the women of Florida and the nation why you feel that we do not require federal aid for victim services like rape crisis centers and hotlines.

I want you to explain why you are blocking women with disabilities from getting the extra assistance they need.

I want you to explain to all of us why he thinks that immigrants and women of color, to groups disproportionately effected by domestic violence, don’t deserve extra help.

Is your objection predicated on the expansion of the protections offered by VAWA to immigrants and the LGBT community?

Seriously?

Or do you really support us? I mean, you’re clearly angling to run for president. Are you under the impression that you won’t require our votes? I know, I know, you’re a Republican lawmaker and as such you have a doctrinal lack of concern for anything that isn’t straight, white wealthy and carrying a Y chromosome but you might want to check your polling.

Let me make myself clear on behalf of the women of Florida and the nation. This isn’t us asking you to protect us. This is us demanding that you stop causing us active harm.

Change your behavior Senator. Do it right now. If you don’t we’re going to hang your obstructionism, the hateful cause of it, and every cut, bruise, and death that might possibly have come from the delay of the re-authorization of this legislation around your neck like a mill stone come 2016.

Unless you want to spend a great deal of time and money, with only the possibility of some under-Secretary position in the potential Christie cabinet to show for it, you need to get on board right the hell now.

One Comment leave one →
  1. shrinkingknitter1951 permalink
    February 5, 2013 5:05 AM

    Have you written to him? E-mailed? Left voice mails? Even if they don’t answer your calls, they record the number of contacts and which side of the fence each contact is on. Keep hammering. Personally I think Rubio is vile and I’m sorry he’s your Senator. You deserve better. Florida deserves better.

    We all do.

Leave a Reply

Social Justice Xenomorph

White Lady Done Being Nice

hoodfeminism

Life at the Intersection.

the inadvertent feminist

Kinky girl and accidental activist

Tall N Curly™

Comics, music & stuff by Chey (Cheyan Lefebvre)

serenitynow3

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Grown and Curvy Woman

Where Style Has No Age Or Size

work / play / polish

life through manicures

Hollis Plample

draws comics

Crystal St. Marie Lewis

Notes on Faith, Reason & Liberation

Politics - The Huffington Post

I am not nice, but I am honest and that is more important.

The Great American Memoir!

Like, share, comment, follow, tweet, etc.

Council House Scum

Welfare leeching wage slave writing all sorts of crap...

Radically Queer

Learn, Question, Make Change.

I am not nice, but I am honest and that is more important.

ghostnapped

Ashley Howland Author WordPress.com site

Sarah Over the Moon

I am not nice, but I am honest and that is more important.

White Rabbit's Lair

A place of any thing...

