Skip to content

Pardon Me While I Model My Tinfoil Hat

February 8, 2013

OK, yes, yesterday I pointed out why the whole drone strikes thing is being blown out of proportion. Because it really was. But there is an interesting question that kind of got me thinking and thinking and thinking some more. And not in a good way.

 

 

tinfoil hat

 

All of this seemed very convenient.

I mean the white paper came out and then there was the revaluation that we’ve had a secret base in Saudi Arabia from which drone strikes are being directed the next day and the authorization by the administration to release the legal rationale behind the drone strike program the day after that.

After years of keeping all of those things very secret, they all came out in the course of three days. Please tell me I’m not the only person who sees that as obviously tactical. I can’t be the only person who sees the strategic benefit to the behavior I’ve outlined.

It looks a lot like a distraction.

The question is, what are we being distracted from?  While Internetlandia is busy blowing up about drone strikes, what are we not seeing? It wasn’t torture. At least, if that was the object, it was unsuccessful. Nearly every single Democratic Senator on the Intelligence Committee asked about it as well as drone strikes. Was it Gitmo, which was barely mentioned? Was it the extra-judicial means by which terrorists are tried under current precedent?  Was it the fact that these drone strikes involve the deaths of children?

I don’t know, but I would really, really like to.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 5, 2015 6:58 PM

    This is the right webpage for anybody who hopes to find out about this topic.

    You know so much its almost hard to argue with you (not that I really will need to…HaHa).

    You certainly put a fresh spin on a subject
    that has been discussed for years. Wonderful stuff, just wonderful!

Leave a Reply

Social Justice Xenomorph

White Lady Done Being Nice

hoodfeminism

Life at the Intersection.

the inadvertent feminist

Kinky girl and accidental activist

Tall N Curly™

Comics, music & stuff by Chey (Cheyan Lefebvre)

serenitynow3

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Grown and Curvy Woman

Where Style Has No Age Or Size

work / play / polish

life through manicures

Hollis Plample

draws comics

Crystal St. Marie Lewis

Notes on Faith, Reason & Liberation

Politics - The Huffington Post

I am not nice, but I am honest and that is more important.

The Great American Memoir!

Like, share, comment, follow, tweet, etc.

Council House Scum

Welfare leeching wage slave writing all sorts of crap...

Radically Queer

Learn, Question, Make Change.

I am not nice, but I am honest and that is more important.

ghostnapped

Ashley Howland Author WordPress.com site

Sarah Over the Moon

I am not nice, but I am honest and that is more important.

White Rabbit's Lair

A place of any thing...

