Skip to content

I Wanted A Cat. Instead I Got A Dog Who Meows.

February 11, 2013

This is Harley.

Apparently this is my job now.

Apparently this is my job now.

If you’ve read my blog in the past, you may recall that she wandered into our house and adopted us.

She still lives here. I luuuuurve her. I kind of forget what it was like to not have a cat. Except I kind of don’t have a cat. I kind of have a dog.

This is Harley giving me hate face because I'm not playing with her.

This is Harley giving me hate face because I’m not playing with her.

Dogs want to interact with you all the time. it’s not their fault, they’re pack animals. they want to interact with and maintain the relationships within their pack. Dogs are nice and all but those demands for attention become trying.

Cats are aloof, right? They want affection and attention when they want it and other than that and food dispensing, their attitude is roughly akin to “Fuck you. I’m a cat.”

Not Harley.

Please allow me to narrate my day:

“Meow! Good you’re awake! Foods! Now foods are done more foods? No foods? Sigh. Fine. I’ll go look outside for a while.”

This is normal life with a cat. I was prepared for this. But this is is only her early morning behavior.

More of my day:

“Meow! Play with me! Meow! PLAY! Meow!”

Pounce on nothing, sprint around the house, run in the kitchen where she knows she’s not allowed.

“Meow! Play! Meow! Why are you not playing with me? Meow! PLAY WITH ME!”

Leap onto the chair and purr militantly for attention.

“What is that on your lap? Why does it get to be on your lap? I could be on your lap. See?”

Move, turn around, settle down to purring.

“This thing on your lap is in my way.”

Stretch.

“It’s still in my way.”

Streeeetch.

Slam kitty face against hands that are obviously busy doing something else.

“PET!”

Leap off of my lap and begin the sprinting, pouncing, yowling for attention cycle again. All. Day. Long.

This is not a kitten, folks. She is well beyond the ‘play all the time’ stage. She’s just obnoxious.

I love her so much!

After I finally give in and play with her for hours and hours.

After I finally give in and play with her for hours and hours.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Social Justice Xenomorph

White Lady Done Being Nice

hoodfeminism

Life at the Intersection.

the inadvertent feminist

Kinky girl and accidental activist

Tall N Curly™

Comics, music & stuff by Chey (Cheyan Lefebvre)

serenitynow3

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Grown and Curvy Woman

Where Style Has No Age Or Size

work / play / polish

life through manicures

Hollis Plample

draws comics

Crystal St. Marie Lewis

Notes on Faith, Reason & Liberation

Politics - The Huffington Post

I am not nice, but I am honest and that is more important.

The Great American Memoir!

Like, share, comment, follow, tweet, etc.

Council House Scum

Welfare leeching wage slave writing all sorts of crap...

Radically Queer

Learn, Question, Make Change.

I am not nice, but I am honest and that is more important.

ghostnapped

Ashley Howland Author WordPress.com site

Sarah Over the Moon

I am not nice, but I am honest and that is more important.

White Rabbit's Lair

A place of any thing...

