Skip to content

How To Tuesday: Live A Literary Reference

March 5, 2013

 

Jungle Book

I went through a literary classics phase, as a kid. Actually, I went through several but one of my earliest was the classic kid lit phase and among the many books I read was The Jungle Book.

The line that has always stayed with me, the one that fundamentally changed my understanding of of how the world was supposed to work was this:

Now this is the Law of the Jungle — as old and as true as the sky; And the Wolf that shall keep it may prosper, but the Wolf that shall break it must die. As the creeper that girdles the tree-trunk the Law runneth forward and back — For the strength of the Pack is the Wolf, and the strength of the Wolf is the Pack.

This will all make sense in a bit, stay with me, through what appears to be an abrupt subject change.

We’ve been going through extreme financial issues. (This IS NOT a request for money. Just keep reading.) They were extreme enough that I went to someone for help. The person I went to, they are close enough to me that under a normal, moral code, help would be offered if possible. If it wasn’t possible that would have been fine. Some variation of “I can’t,” would have been fine too.

Lots of people are in a bad way right now. The inability to help is something I totally would have understood.

What I don’t understand is “Yes, I could help you but I won’t.” More specifically what I was told that person wouldn’t help, because they disapproved of the fact that the person I love is also female. This is the gist of what I heard today. “I’ll give you money to leave her, but I won’t give you money to save your family.”

WTF

I mean seriously, what the fuck is wrong with people that someone would essentially try to bribe me out of my relationship. as if any amount of money has more value to me than A-.

So I spent a little time hating the world today and convincing myself that the souls of some people are fundamentally flawed.

But you know what? Within 12 hours of that gut wrenching, soul crushing, faith destroying moment, Universe showed me I was wrong.

People who have never met me, friends, but internet friends who have no reason to do for me, stepped up. They helped us. They saved us. Not because they had to. Not because they had any long term or familial connection to us, just because they cared enough to step up and offer.

That happened. It happened because I have some fucking amazing people in my life. It happened because of my pack.

I have no idea what I would do without you guys and I’m so fucking proud to be one of you. Because of you, my faith in humanity is restored and, you know, we can eat and stuff this month. That’s nice.

In the long run, the faith thing matters more.

 and the strength of the Wolf is the Pack.

I promise to be strong for the next person who needs help when I can offer it.


 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 5, 2013 2:59 PM

    People are stupid, and I’m sorry you had to go through that. But, other people are wonderful and will step up even when they have absolutely no obligation to do so, and I’m glad you have people like that in your life. I have some of them, too, and they more than make up for the family members who, when my mother’s health got to the point where she had to have 24/7 care, only said: “You’re strong. You can handle it. And, oh, by the way, don’t bother to ask for help from us because it won’t be forthcoming.” Even though these were people my mother had dropped everything for countless times over the years.

    Makes you wonder sometimes, doesn’t it?

    missattitude

  2. March 6, 2013 9:13 PM

    WTF indeed. Damnit, I’m so sorry.

Leave a Reply

Social Justice Xenomorph

White Lady Done Being Nice

hoodfeminism

Life at the Intersection.

the inadvertent feminist

Kinky girl and accidental activist

Tall N Curly™

Comics, music & stuff by Chey (Cheyan Lefebvre)

serenitynow3

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Grown and Curvy Woman

Where Style Has No Age Or Size

work / play / polish

life through manicures

Hollis Plample

draws comics

Crystal St. Marie Lewis

Notes on Faith, Reason & Liberation

Politics - The Huffington Post

I am not nice, but I am honest and that is more important.

The Great American Memoir!

Like, share, comment, follow, tweet, etc.

Council House Scum

Welfare leeching wage slave writing all sorts of crap...

Radically Queer

Learn, Question, Make Change.

I am not nice, but I am honest and that is more important.

ghostnapped

Ashley Howland Author WordPress.com site

Sarah Over the Moon

I am not nice, but I am honest and that is more important.

White Rabbit's Lair

A place of any thing...

