Skip to content

Blerd Chick Stories: What Makes A Hero?

April 17, 2013

Look, I know everyone is still torn up and pissed about Boston. It’s understandable.

However, despite the heavy traffic my last post on the subject got, (hello new people) some individuals still aren’t getting the message, so I’m going to come at it from a nerd direction and hope that gets through.

When things get bad some nerds think of heroes, specifically superheroes.

Captain_America_9_11_Tribute_by_JoeJusko 9_11Superman1

Clearly this thought process is not uncommon. S0 yeah, thinking of heroes.

When you ask nerds what superhero they would most like to be, most of them are going to give you one of the big three, Superman, Batman, or Spiderman. Leaving aside for a moment the fact that Batman isn’t a superhero, those are the most common answers.

I get that. I do. The desire to be any one of those men, the last of his kind, sent from a dying world to be our world’s paragon, the epitome of human training and mental ability, and the genius, kid who is a massive geek in is real life but can kick ass by sticking to walls and still gets the girl, makes perfect sense.

Most people, answer one of those three. I don’t. My answer?

glcor_cv60_var

Why? Because without those rings those guys are just guys. They aren’t the last sons of Krypton. They aren’t the result of insane vendettas and decades of training. They avoided the bite of the radioactive spider. (I guess that’s hard in comic book land. ) They were just guys. Kyle’s induction into the Lantern Corps was literally “you’ll do.” Their back stories expand on how they are pretty cool humans but still, just humans. They’re not even on a Batman level of special without their rings, at least at first.

What set them apart from the rest of humanity and got them those  amazing rings in the first place? Some of you extra nerdy readers just thought “willpower.” That would make you wrong.

What set them apart was that they stepped up when they were called. They got involved when they were needed.

Those are the kind of people we want on our team. People like these. People who ran into fire to pull others out. People who opened their homes and used their skills and talents to help strangers. People who stepped up and said “yes,” when they were called to action.

That’s what you learn as a nerd. You don’t have to be The Big Blue Boyscout or The Dark Knight or The Websligner. You don’t even need a power ring and a badass oath. I mean, I have some, badass oaths, not power rings, just for personal use. They’re not like, a requirement.  You just have to try. Also, don’t be a fuckwit. (Guy Gardener. I know. shut up. I’m making a point here.) That means stop it with the bullshit blame and speculation. it’s not helping anyone. It’s actually causing harm. We can’t do that. That’s not who we are.

My team? They look like this.

911

I know there are a lot of people who don’t get this. I know there are a lot of people who are just angry and spouting off. I don’t care how angry they are. It needs to stop.

Anyone who can’t or won’t stop; I don’t want those people on my team any more.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 17, 2013 7:17 AM

    I love this. I love you. You put my thoughts into words. A neighbor asked me last night who I thought was behind it,and said that she thought it was “just some sick, crazy person.” My response? “I don’t know. I won’t try to speculate, because it could be anyone; anything.” Because it could. We need to stop looking to blame and just concentrate on the good. Thank you for putting it into words.

Leave a Reply

Social Justice Xenomorph

White Lady Done Being Nice

hoodfeminism

Life at the Intersection.

the inadvertent feminist

Kinky girl and accidental activist

Tall N Curly™

Comics, music & stuff by Chey (Cheyan Lefebvre)

serenitynow3

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Grown and Curvy Woman

Where Style Has No Age Or Size

work / play / polish

life through manicures

Hollis Plample

draws comics

Crystal St. Marie Lewis

Notes on Faith, Reason & Liberation

Politics - The Huffington Post

I am not nice, but I am honest and that is more important.

The Great American Memoir!

Like, share, comment, follow, tweet, etc.

Council House Scum

Welfare leeching wage slave writing all sorts of crap...

Radically Queer

Learn, Question, Make Change.

I am not nice, but I am honest and that is more important.

ghostnapped

Ashley Howland Author WordPress.com site

Sarah Over the Moon

I am not nice, but I am honest and that is more important.

White Rabbit's Lair

A place of any thing...

