Skip to content

I Can’t Breathe

December 4, 2014
PoliceBrutality

These are just the cis-gendered males.

The grand jury in Ferguson, MO decided not to indict Darren Wilson, largely because they were given incorrect instructions as to the letter of the law.

Of course I was angry. But more than anger, what I felt was an overwhelming sense of being not at all surprised and sadness. It was this crushing, blinding sadness and it choked me.

I can’t breathe.

John Crawford was shio while shopping in an open carry state. He picked up a BB gun in a place where white men have carried assault rifles in an attempt to prove a point and the grand jury in that state declined to return an indictment.

The level of despair that knowledge brings up in me is so overwhelming I can’t breathe.

Tamir Rice was shot while playing with a toy gun. He was 12 years old.

I. Can’t. Breathe.

And now, to see the grand jury in the Eric garner case refuse to return an indictment, even after viewing the video evidence, after being told that the NYC coroner ruled the death a homicide and learning that the choke hold applied was outlawed in 1993?

I Can’t Breathe

When the people of Ferguson react with violence at the lack of concern the people who are supposed to protect, serve, and represent them they are doing it because they can’t breathe. And when you’re being choked you flail. You lash out at anyone in your line of sight, anyone who you can lay your hands on, even if they are friendly because you’re desperately trying to stay alive.

They Can’t Breathe

When a number of Caucasian friends decided to try to fill up my BINGO card as fast as possible I ended up unfriending more than a few and got even more sad.

White Racism BINGO

WE CAN’T BREATHE

When I watched other Caucasian friends discover that people they liked and admired are, in reality, just really racist and hateful I felt bad for them. When they made it clear that while they were in pain, this issue was the thing they wanted to focus on, I was extremely proud to call these people friends.

BUT I STILL CAN’T BREATHE

When the society that is choking us spends as much time as it possibly can telling us we deserve it

WE CAN’T FUCKING BREATHE

I wanted to be eloquent about this. I wanted to cite statistics and quote sources. I wanted to incorporate the words of people more skilled and well known than I am. But…

icantbreathe

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 4, 2014 12:54 AM

    Thank you for speaking out!

Leave a Reply

Social Justice Xenomorph

White Lady Done Being Nice

hoodfeminism

Life at the Intersection.

the inadvertent feminist

Kinky girl and accidental activist

Tall N Curly™

Comics, music & stuff by Chey (Cheyan Lefebvre)

serenitynow3

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Grown and Curvy Woman

Where Style Has No Age Or Size

work / play / polish

life through manicures

Hollis Plample

draws comics

Crystal St. Marie Lewis

Notes on Faith, Reason & Liberation

Politics - The Huffington Post

I am not nice, but I am honest and that is more important.

The Great American Memoir!

Like, share, comment, follow, tweet, etc.

Council House Scum

Welfare leeching wage slave writing all sorts of crap...

Radically Queer

Learn, Question, Make Change.

I am not nice, but I am honest and that is more important.

ghostnapped

Ashley Howland Author WordPress.com site

Sarah Over the Moon

I am not nice, but I am honest and that is more important.

White Rabbit's Lair

A place of any thing...

