Skip to content

Raven Is So Gay…Maybe

August 7, 2013

And I don’t care that much. I certainly don’t care as much as the numerous people on Twitter who have suddenly decided that their childhood are in tatters.

That's So Raven

 

Here’s the thing, she didn’t really come out. I mean, she hasn’t said she’s gay. She celebrated the fact that people who are gay can get legally married in some states. And yes, she did say that now she can get married too. But that doesn’t necessarily equate to coming it. She could have just been one of those straight people who think that refusing to get married is somehow an act of solidarity.

Pro-tip: You’re really not helping. I know you think you are but your refusal to get married isn’t actually doing anything to help us. Further, refusing to take advantage of your privilege doesn’t change the fact that you have it and I don’t. Your state of marriage doesn’t help me at all.

But fine; let’s say that she is, in fact, gay. How does that ruin people’s childhoods?

No, of course it doesn’t really do that, but I’m looking at why they think it did. And wow some people really said their childhood was ruined because Raven Symone is gay.

Right so, that is pretty much a link to a list of giant homophobes.

However, assuming that her press release indicates she’s somewhere on the scale of not straight, that was always the case. She was always gay because that’s how sexuality works. You know, your born that way. Lady Gaga even wrote a whole song about it.

Nothing about her has changed at all. It’s them that have changed. Now, if they go back and watch any of her performances, all they will think about is her and sex. And keep in mind that most of those performances happened while she was a child. But, according to some this is a problem with her and not, you know, exceptionally creepy behavior on their part.

And let’s be clear here, their problem isn’t that she’s gay. Their problem is that she is not hiding itanymore. Their problem is that she is expressing the most basic principles of dignity and personal freedom; she’s talking about her relationship. Because, how dare a fellow human being who is a member of the LGBTQ community have the exact same conversation that a straight person might have?

Gasp, the horror.

You can’t see me but I’m rolling my eyes because how else does a rational person react to that idiocy?

Either that or they were convinced that Raven-Symoné was really a precognitive teen with a love of fashion and the quirk of regularly dressing up in disguises and they are really pissed off on Devon’s behalf.

If that is the case then I think they’ve got bigger problems than homophobia

No comments yet

Leave a comment

Social Justice Xenomorph

White Lady Done Being Nice

hoodfeminism

Life at the Intersection.

the inadvertent feminist

Pansexual girl and accidental activist

Tall N Curly Comics

A webcomic about a tall and curly girl's life by Cheyan Lefebvre

serenitynow3

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Grown and Curvy Woman

Where Style Has No Age Or Size

Hollis Plample

draws comics

Politics - The Huffington Post

I am not nice, but I am honest and that is more important.

The Great American Memoir!

Like, share, comment, follow, tweet, etc.

Council House Scum

Welfare leeching wage slave writing all sorts of crap...

Radically Queer

Learn, Question, Make Change.

I am not nice, but I am honest and that is more important.

ghostnapped

Ashley Howland Author WordPress.com site

Sarah Over the Moon

I am not nice, but I am honest and that is more important.

Feministing

I am not nice, but I am honest and that is more important.