Skip to content

Run And Tell That (Alec Satin, Ravelry, and Why I Can’t Stop Giggling)

June 18, 2016

There are two things (minimum) you don’t step to if you want to survive in the fiber arts world:

  1. Another fiber artist’s tools without permission.
  2. Ravelry.

Guess what happened?

If you choose not to click yet you guessed that a cis (imma guess) het white guy felt the need to step to the largest fiber arts website on earth to admonish them posting a tiny rainbow flag with the scroll over text “We love you.” Give yourself a gold star.

If you further guessed that said guy doesn’t appear to understand what words mean given that he thinks that  respecting and valuing the lives of other humans somehow equates to “losing” and that respecting and valuing the lives of other humans is both “divisive” and “offensive,” give yourself two gold stars. Or like, a gold start and some rum. Whatever is a good extra treat for you.

If, finally, you guessed that his justification for all of this was his understanding of his holy book, you’ve probably been dealing with people like him for a while.

For real, now is a perfectly fine time to reach for the rum.

He also claimed that adding a tiny rainbow was somehow “defacing,” the logo.

This, by the way, is what he’s freaking out about…

 

HIS REACTION IS PURE COMEDY GOLD PEOPLE!

And you know what the best part is? I don’t even have to drag him.

Because as I mentioned previously, he broke one of the very few rules of the fiber arts community. Other people are going to do that for me. And it is going to be so good, so petty, so whip smart, and unforgiving, I may never stop giggling.

It’s already started.

And that’s good because I am busy mourning nearly 50 dead members of my community and hugging my girlfriend and trying to function as a Black, bi, femme, person in a world that hates me for a not small number of reasons, not one of which includes anything I did wrong other than being born.

I’m glad to see other people do the work. I’m proud to be a part of a community that will not accept that kind of bullshit in their name. I’m also sad, that this conversation even needs to happen.

Because 49 people died and over 50 more were wounded and this guy, this fucking guy had to make it about his fucking feelings and not about their lives and the fact that they had and continue to have, value.

That’s the core of this.

Some cis, het, Christian dude got all up in his feeling because the Ravelry Powers That Be reacted to an attack on human beings with compassion and basic human decency.

Somehow that is a problem for Mr. Satin.

Christianity. I think he’s doing it wrong.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kathleen permalink
    June 20, 2016 8:02 PM

  2. June 22, 2016 3:11 AM

    Thank you.

Leave a comment

Social Justice Xenomorph

White Lady Done Being Nice

hoodfeminism

Life at the Intersection.

the inadvertent feminist

Pansexual girl and accidental activist

Tall N Curly Comics

A webcomic about a tall and curly girl's life by Cheyan Lefebvre

serenitynow3

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Grown and Curvy Woman

Where Style Has No Age Or Size

Hollis Plample

draws comics

Politics - The Huffington Post

I am not nice, but I am honest and that is more important.

The Great American Memoir!

Like, share, comment, follow, tweet, etc.

Council House Scum

Welfare leeching wage slave writing all sorts of crap...

Radically Queer

Learn, Question, Make Change.

I am not nice, but I am honest and that is more important.

ghostnapped

Ashley Howland Author WordPress.com site

Sarah Over the Moon

I am not nice, but I am honest and that is more important.

Feministing

I am not nice, but I am honest and that is more important.